Links

PET RESCUE GROUPS

Petfinder.com

Petorphans.com

Spotsociety.org—404-584-7768

FERAL CAT RESOURCES

Atlanta Animal Alliance—Atlanta—projectcatsnip.com

Planned Pethood—plannedpethoodga.com

Catlanta—part of Lifeline Animal Project-Atlanta-atlantapets.org

Feral Cat Program of Georgia—feralcatprogramofgeorgia.com

Islandsferalcatproject.org—Savannah

CatNappers—Albany—thecatnappers.com

Whiskers Project—Blairsville—whiskersproject.org, 888-972-9330, info@whiskersproject.org

Spotsociety.org

Alleycat.org

HUMANE SOCIETIES AND SHELTERS

Atlanta Humane Society 404-875-5331 atlantahumane.org

Augusta Humane Society 706-736-0186

Cast Off Pet Rescue, 92 Jordan Rd., Blairsville, GA 30512–castoffpetrescue.org, 706-781-3992, info@castoffrescue.org

Clayton County Humane Society 770-471-9436 claytoncountyhumane.org

Cherokee Humane Society 770-592-8072 cchumanesociety.org

CSRA Humane Society, 425 Wood St., Augusta, GA 30904—csrahumanesociety.org, 706-261-7387

Humane Society of Cobb County 770-428-5678 humanecobb.com

Dawson County Humane Society 706-265-9160 dawsoncountyhumanesociety.org

Dahlonega-Lumpkin County Humane Society 706-864-2817 tlchs.org

Dekalb Animal Services 404-294-2996 dekalbanimalservices.com

Douglas County Humane Society 678-838-9123 douglascountyhumanesociety.org

Fayette County Humane Society 770-487-1073 fayettehumane.org

Forsyth County Humane Society 770-887-6480 forsythpets.org

Good Shepherd Humane Society 479-253-9115 goodshepherd-hs.org

Gwinnett County Animal Shelter 770-339-3200

Gwinnett Humane Society 770-798-7711

Griffin-Spalding Humane Society 770-229-4925 griffinhumanesociety.org

Henry County Humane Society 770-914-1272

Morgan County Humane Society 706-343-9977

Humane Society of Northwest Georgia—Whitfield County—Dalton, GA

Oconee Regional Humane Society, 1020 Park Ave., Suite 101, Greensboro, GA 30642, 706-484-1715, 706-454-1508, orhspets@gmail.com

Pickens Animal Rescue—Jasper 706-692-2772

Rome-Floyd County Humane Society, 518 Broad St., Rome, GA 30161—info@rfhs.org

Society of Humane Friends of Georgia 770-962-4301

Sumter Humane Society, 108 Industrial Blvd., Americus, GA 31719—sumterhumanesociety.org, 229-924-0268

Humane Society of Griffin-Spalding County 770-229-4925

Suzie’s Friends, 3681 Altama Ave., Brunswick, GA 31520 and 122 Lakeview Dr., Homerville, GA 31634, 912-342-7073, 912-487-0916—suziesfriends.org

Thomasville-Thomas County Humane Society 912-228-0613

Humane Society of Valdosta/Lowndes County—229-247-3266, info@humanesocietyofvaldosta.org

Walton Animal Guild PO Box 169, Monroe, GA 770-207-1896 wagwalton@yahoo.com

Rescue/Adoption

Atlanta Pet Rescue and Adoption—atlantapetrescue.org

Helping Paws Rescue—Athens—pawtropolis.com

Good Mews Animal Foundation—770-499-2287, goodmews.org

Bassett Hound Rescue of Georgia—770-499-1164, bhrg.org

Cocker Spaniel Rescue—cockerspaniel.rescueme.org/Georgia

Collie Rescue—collie.rescueme.org/Georgia

Doberman Rescue—atlantadobermanrescue.com

English Springer Spaniel Rescue—englishspringerspaniel.rescueme.org/Georgia

German Shepherd Rescue—gashepherd.org

Golden Retriever Rescue (of Atlanta)—678-310-4772, grra.com

Great Dane Rescue—greatdane.rescueme.org/Georgia

Great Pyrenees Rescue (Atlanta)—404-829-2609, greatpyratlanta.com

Adopt a Greyhound Atlanta, Inc.—770-469-9533, greyhounds2.org

Greyhound Adoption of the Southeast—770-473-9738, greyhoundadoption.org

Companion Greyhound, Inc./Greyt Friends—770-971-8788

Italian Greyhound Rescue—italiangreyhound.rescueme.org/Georgia

Newfoundland Rescue—newfoundland.rescueme.org/Georgia

Pug Rescue—pug.rescueme.org/Georgia

Sheltie Rescue—770-926-2001, info@sheltierescue-ga.org, sheltierescueofga.rescuegroups.org

Siberian Husky Rescue—siberianrescue.com/southeast

Scottish Terrier Rescue—scottishterrier.rescueme.org/Georgia

Georgia Herding Breed Rescue—rescueme.org/Georgia

Georgia Homeless Pets—gahomelesspets.com

Lifeline Animal Project—lifelineanimal.org

FurKids—furkids.org

Paws Atlanta—pawsatlanta.org

Heart of Georgia Humane Society—heartofgahs.org

Humane Society of Houston County—humanesocietyhoco.org

Fulton County Animal Services—fultonanimalservices.com

Country Livin Pet Rescue (herding breeds)—countrylivinpets.org

Other

Noah’s Ark (Locust Grove)—770-957-0888, noahs-ark.org

Georgia House Rabbit Society—678-653-7175, houserabbitga.com

Kindness Matters Ferret Rescue—770-235-0070, kindnessmattersferretrescue.com

Save the Horses—77-886-5419, savethehorses.org

Georgia Equine Rescue League, Ltd.—Dedicated to helping starved, abused and neglected horses. gerltd.org

North Shore Animal League—The largest pet adoption agency in the world, based in New York. animalleague.org

Save Our Strays—saveourstraysatlanta.com

House Rabbit Society—A non-profit organization with two goals:  to rescue abandoned rabbits and find permanent homes for them; and to educate the public and assist humane societies. 678-653-7175, rabbit.org

Feral Cat Coalition—in San Diego.  Their education programs advocate no-kill shelters and a trap-alter-release program—feralcat.com

Humane Alliance—in North Carolina.  The Humane Alliance Spay/Neuter Clinic is dedicated to ending pet overpopulation by providing high volume, high quality, targeted, and affordable sterilization services of for companion animals—humanealliance.org

Health

American Animal Hospital Association—healthypet.com

Animal Health from Cornell University

Cornell Feline Health Center—vet.cornell.edu/fhc

AVMA Presents: Care for Pets—avma.org/care4pets

The NetVet—netvet.wustl.edu

Pet Loss-Resources for dealing with the loss of a pet-griefhealing.com/veterinary-sites

Feline Chronic Renal Failure Information Center—felinecrf.com

Feline Diabetes—felinediabetes.com

Encyclopedia of Feline Veterinary Medical Information—vetinfo.com

The American College of Veterinary Ophthalologists—acvo.org

American Association of Feline Practitioners—catvets.com

Organizations

American Humane Association (AHA)—Their mission is to prevent cruelty, abuse, neglect, and exploitation of children and animals and to assure that their interests and well-being are fully, effectively, and humanely guaranteed by an aware and caring society–americanhumane.org

Animal Sheltering (Humane Society of the United States)—animalsheltering.org

Fund for Animals—One of the largest and most active organizations dedicated to the cause of animals throughout the world—fundforanimals.org

The Humane Society of the United States (HSUS)—Dedicated to making the world safe for animals through legal, educational, legislative, and investigative means—humanesociety.org

World Animal Protection—Working with over 300 member societies in more than 70 countries, WAP has the most widespread animal protection network in the world—worldanimalprotection.org

Cruelty-Free

Vegetarian Resource Group—vrg.org

Vegetarian Society of Georgia—vegsocietyofga.org

VegSource—vegsource.com

Animal Rights

Animal Rights Resource Link

Association of Veterinarians for Animal Rights—An international association of veterinarians taking veterinary medicine beyond “adequate veterinary care.”

National Anti-Vivisection Society—Dedicated to abolishing the exploitation of animals used in research, education, and product testing—navs.org

United Poultry Concerns—Promotes the compassionate and respectful treatment of domestic fowl—upc-online.org

USA Defenders of Greyhounds—Their primary mission is greyhound rescue and public education about racing industry practices, with their ultimate goal being an end to the use, abuse, and senseless destruction of greyhounds bred for racing—usadog.redframe.com